Thu, 19 May 2022

2022 NFL Draft order: Giants hold 5th & 7th picks

12 Jan 2022, 18:12 GMT+10

Dan Salomone

With the conclusion of the 2021 regular season, the 2022 NFL Draft order is starting to take shape. The Giants, who picked up an additional first-round pick in a trade with the Chicago Bears last April, are locked into the fifth and seventh overall selections.

VIEW: 2022 opponents set for New York Giants

Below is a look at the current draft order (remaining spots will be determined by the results of postseason play):

Jacksonville Jaguars Detroit Lions Houston Texans New York Jets New York Giants Carolina Panthers New York Giants (via Chicago Bears) Atlanta Falcons Denver Broncos New York Jets (via Seattle Seahawks) Washington Football Team Minnesota Vikings Cleveland Browns Baltimore Ravens Philadelphia Eagles (via Miami Dolphins) Philadelphia Eagles (via Indianapolis Colts) Los Angeles Chargers New Orleans Saints

Now for a look at the history of where the Giants will be selecting in the 2022 NFL Draft, which is scheduled to be held April 28-30 in Las Vegas.

Past 10 selections at No. 5:

2021: WR Ja'Marr Chase (Bengals) 2020: QB Tua Tagovailoa (Dolphins) 2019: LB Devin White (Buccaneers) 2018: DE Bradley Chubb (Broncos) 2017: WR Corey Davis (Titans) 2016: CB Jalen Ramsey (Jaguars) 2015: T Brandon Scherff (Washington) 2014: LB Khalil Mack (Raiders) 2013: DE Ezekiel Ansah (Lions) 2012: WR Justin Blackmon (Jaguars)

Notable No. 5 picks throughout history:

1944: HB Steve Van Buren (HOF) 1945: HB/E Elroy Hirsch (HOF) 1946: T George Connor (HOF) 1957: QB Len Dawson (HOF) 1961: TE Mike Ditka (HOF) 1964: DE Carl Eller (HOF) 1965: RB Gale Sayers (HOF) 1976: DB Mike Haynes (HOF) 1989: DB Deion Sanders (HOF) 1990: LB Junior Seau (HOF) 1995: QB Kerry Collins 2001: RB LaDainian Tomlinson (HOF) 2004: DB Sean Taylor 2011: DB Patrick Peterson 2014: LB Khalil Mack 2015: T Brandon Scherff 2016: CB Jalen Ramsey 2021: WR Ja'Marr Chase

Past 10 selections at No. 7:

2021: OL Penei Sewell (Lions) 2020: DT Derrick Brown (Panthers) 2019: LB Josh Allen (Jaguars) 2018: QB Josh Allen (Bills) 2017: WR Mike Williams (Chargers) 2016: DE DeForest Buckner (49ers) 2015: WR Kevin White (Bears) 2014: WR Mike Evans (Buccaneers) 2013: G Jonathan Cooper (Cardinals) 2012: DB Mark Barron (Buccaneers)

Notable No. 7 picks throughout history:

1940: C/LB Clyde "Bulldog" Turner (HOF) 1958: LB Chuck Howley 1979: QB Phil Simms 1988: WR Sterling Sharpe 1992: DB Troy Vincent 1994: DT Bryant Young 1996: WR Terry Glenn 1997: WR Ike Hilliard 1999: DB Champ Bailey (HOF) 2007: RB Adrian Peterson 2014: WR Mike Evans 2018: QB Josh Allen

How the draft order is determined:

Currently, each of the 32 clubs receives one pick in each of the seven rounds of the NFL Draft (the number of teams drafting has changed over time, and there have been as many as 30 rounds in a single draft).

The order of selection is determined by the reverse order of finish in the previous season. Barring any trades between clubs, each round starts with the team that finished with the worst record and ends with the Super Bowl champions.

Teams that didn't qualify for the playoffs are assigned draft slots 1-18. The order is determined by the standings at the end of the regular season: The club with the worst record will pick first, and the one with the best record will pick 18th.

Teams that did qualify for the playoffs are assigned draft slots 19-32. The order is determined by the results of the previous year's postseason play:

The six teams eliminated in the wild card round pick in slots 19-24 in the reverse order of their final regular season records. The four teams eliminated in the divisional round pick in slots 25-28 in the reverse order of their final regular season records. The two teams that lost in the conference championships pick in the 29th and 30th spots in the reverse order of their final regular season records. The team that lost the Super Bowl has the 31st pick in the draft. The Super Bowl champion has the 32nd and final spot in each round.

In situations where teams finished the previous season with identical records, the determination of draft position is decided by strength of schedule - the aggregate winning percentage of a team's opponents. The team that played the schedule with the lowest winning percentage will be awarded the higher pick.

If the teams have the same strength of schedule, division or conference tiebreakers are applied. If the divisional or conference tiebreakers are not applicable, or ties still exist between teams of different conferences, ties will be broken the following tie-breaking method:

Head-to-head, if applicable Best won-lost-tied percentage in common games (minimum of four) Strength of victory in all games Best combined ranking among all teams in points scored and points allowed in all games Best net points in all games Best net touchdowns in all games Coin toss

Sign up for Indianapolis News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!